All the Winners from the 13th Annual African American Film Critics Association Awards


Will Smith of King Richard and Jennifer Hudson of Respect re among the winners of the 13th annual African American Film Critics Association Awards. Winners will be feted on March 2 in Los Angeles. The Harder They Fall matched King Richard‘s four wins including best film, best ensemble, best music and best director for Jeymes Samuel.

Smith was honored as the AAFCA’s best actor for his portrayal of Richard Williams in King Richard. The film, which tells the story of Venus and Serena Williams’ father, also earned nods for Aunjanue Ellis (best supporting actress), Saniyya Sidney (breakout actor); and Reinaldo Marcus Green (emerging director).

The Western The Harder They Fall follows an outlaw who reunites his old gang after his enemy is released from prison. It stars Jonathan Majors, Idris Elba, Regina King, Zazie Beats, Lakeith Stanfield, and Edi Gathegi.

“It’s been a fantastic year for film,” said AAFCA president and co-founder Gil Robertson. “Just having passed the two-year mark of a global pandemic, great entertainment means more to all of us than ever before. This year’s AAFCA winners not only entertained us but educated and inspired us and we’re looking forward to celebrating them at the AAFCA Awards.”

A full list of winners can be found below.

Best Picture: The Harder They Fall
Best Director: Jeymes Samuel (The Harder They Fall)
Best Screenplay: Don’t Look Up (Adam McKay)
Best Actor: Will Smith (King Richard)
Best Actress: Jennifer Hudson (Respect)
Best Supporting Actor: Corey Hawkins (The Tragedy of Macbeth)
Best Supporting Actress: Aunjanue Ellis (King Richard)
Breakout Actor: Saniyya Sidney (King Richard)
Best Ensemble: The Harder They Fall
Emerging Director: Reinaldo Marcus Green (King Richard)
Best Music: The Harder They Fall (Jeymes Samuel, Kid Cudi, Jay-Z)
Best Independent Feature: Who We Are
Best Documentary: Summer of Soul

SOURCE: Deadline, Rosy Cordero